ok, so, question

Geek talk.

Moderators: Dex, smash

Hortnon

ok, so, question

Post by Hortnon » 14 Aug 2006 10:21

Ok, so, I'm an Oracle DBA. I work on Solaris, AIX, and Windows at work.

Here's what I want to do:
Convert my old computer into a Linux system, then down the line build a new system to create a cluster on. The end goal being a multiple node Linux cluster with an Oracle Grid database on top.

Anyway, the reason I'm asking here, and the reason I mentioned what I work on is, I don't know anything about Linux besides that it exists. So my question is, What Linux distribution should I get for this? I would really like a focus on command line interface, since that's what I'm used to for this kind of thing.
sqlplus "/ as sysdba"

AngelBaby
little. yellow. feisty.

Post by AngelBaby » 14 Aug 2006 10:43

:blink:

eamon angelface

Post by eamon angelface » 14 Aug 2006 10:54

:?
DLT Prom Queen 4 years running.

Hortnon

Post by Hortnon » 14 Aug 2006 12:13

That's pretty much what I expected lol

:(
sqlplus "/ as sysdba"

Dex
Big Daddy

Post by Dex » 14 Aug 2006 12:26

:waugh:

i'mmikeandyousuck

Post by i'mmikeandyousuck » 14 Aug 2006 12:34

MSD

Re: ok, so, question

Post by MSD » 14 Aug 2006 16:56

Hortnon wrote:I don't know anything about Linux besides that it exists. So my question is, What Linux distribution should I get for this? I would really like a focus on command line interface, since that's what I'm used to for this kind of thing.
I've heard from some of my friends who use Linux that Ubuntu is nice...but you want command line interface. So it's better to add this...